6 min read

ADO Air 20 Pro vs Air 20 Ultra: which one fits your commute?

Quick verdict: Both are ADO Air 20 folders. Pick the Ultra if you climb every day or stop at lots of lights: ADO gives it the newer Bafang H730 auto-shifting motor and pitches it for hills and stop-start. On flat or gently rolling routes, pick the Pro: same 250 W / 50 N·m rating, belt drive and battery on paper, for less.

Air 20 Pro €1,499 · Air 20 Ultra €1,799 Price checked 2 November 2026

ADO Air 20 Pro folding e-bike in grey, side view

ADO Air 20 Pro (2026)

Auto-shifting at the lower price.

€1,499 €1,699 Price checked 2 November 2026

Check price at ADO Ad · affiliate link
  • Motor: Bafang auto-shifting motor (ADO)
  • Power · torque: 250 W · 50 N·m (ADO spec)
  • Weight: Not stated

Choose this if your route is mostly flat or gently rolling and the price gap matters.

ADO Air 20 Ultra folding e-bike in grey, side view

ADO Air 20 Ultra (2026)

For hills and stop-start city riding.

€1,799 €1,899 Price checked 2 November 2026

Check price at ADO Ad · affiliate link
  • Motor: 2nd-gen Bafang H730 auto-shifting motor (ADO)
  • Power · torque: 250 W · 50 N·m (ADO spec)
  • Weight: 22 kg incl. standard accessories

Choose this if you climb every day or stop at lots of lights, and 22 kg is fine to lift.

Buy buttons on this page are affiliate links to ADO. You pay the same price. Disclosure.

Motor Pro: Bafang auto-shifting Ultra: 2nd-gen Bafang H730
Headlight Pro: Standard lamp Ultra: Built into the frame
Frame Pro: Aluminium Ultra: Integrated aluminium
Weight Pro: Not stated Ultra: 22 kg (incl. std kit)
Price Pro: €1,499 Ultra: €1,799

Prices are ADO’s EU prices, checked 27 October 2026. ADO says they include shipping and VAT and can vary by country.

ADO Air 20 Pro or ADO Air 20 Ultra

ADO’s own figures, row by row. A highlighted row means the two differ. Footnotes are in “About these specs” below.

Both are ADO Air 20 bikes. The ADO Air 20 Pro is the lower price, with the same 250 W and 50 N·m rating ADO lists for the ADO Air 20 Ultra. The Ultra adds the newer motor, a headlight built into the frame, and an integrated aluminium frame. Read the rows before you treat the two ADO Air 20 bikes as the same machine.

Price at ADO Pro: €1,499 Ultra: €1,799
Gearing Pro: Auto-shifting¹ Ultra: Auto-shifting¹
Motor Pro: Bafang (H700)² Ultra: Bafang H730, 2nd gen
Power · torque Pro: 250 W · 50 N·m Ultra: 250 W · 50 N·m
Assist cut-off Pro: 25 km/h Ultra: 25 km/h
Drive Pro: Carbon belt Ultra: Carbon belt
Battery Pro: 37 V / 10 Ah Ultra: 37 V / 10 Ah
Range claim Pro: Not stated³ Ultra: Not stated³
Weight (ADO) Pro: Not stated⁴ Ultra: 22 kg, std kit⁴
Tyres Pro: 20 × 1.95 in Ultra: 20-in, see note⁵
Headlight Pro: Standard lamp Ultra: Built into frame
Rear light Pro: Integrated Ultra: Integrated
Frame Pro: Aluminium Ultra: Integrated aluminium
Fork Pro: Suspension⁶ Ultra: Lockout suspension⁶
Brakes Pro: Hydraulic disc Ultra: Tektro hydraulic disc
Display Pro: 2.4-in colour⁷ Ultra: 2.4-in colour, NFC⁷
Throttle Pro: None⁸ Ultra: None⁸
In the box Pro: Rack, fenders, lock Ultra: Rack, fenders, lock
Ships to Sweden Pro: Free, 3–7 days Ultra: Free, 3–7 days
About these specs

ADO’s pages don’t always agree with each other. Where they differ, we say so instead of picking a number.

  1. Gearing. Both shift automatically. ADO’s pages give different gear counts for the Ultra, so we don’t state one for either bike.
  2. Pro motor model. ADO’s compare page names the Pro’s motor as a Bafang H700. The Pro product page only says “BAFANG Auto-shifting Motor”.
  3. Range. ADO prints the same maximum-range claim for both. We don’t repeat range slogans. How to estimate real range →
  4. Weight. The Ultra’s 22 kg includes standard accessories (ADO spec line; ADO’s compare page also says 22 kg). The Pro’s weight is not stated here: ADO gives several different figures on different bases.
  5. Tyres. The Pro’s 20 × 1.95 in matches across ADO’s pages. For the Ultra, ADO’s product page and its compare page list different widths. Check the product page if tyre width matters to you.
  6. Fork. ADO describes the Pro’s fork differently in different places (standard, suspension, lockout). The Ultra’s is a lockout suspension fork on its own page.
  7. NFC. The Ultra’s spec table lists NFC power on/off. The Pro’s spec table doesn’t, but ADO’s compare page lists NFC for both. Don’t treat NFC as the deciding difference.
  8. Throttle. ADO’s Air 20 Pro page says the Air 20 Pro and Air 20 Ultra “do not support throttle installation”.

We leave out waterproof ratings, turn signals and light output. ADO’s pages disagree on them.

What the Ultra’s higher price buys

Start with what’s the same. On paper, ADO gives both bikes the same 250 W / 50 N·m rating, the same 25 km/h assist cut-off, the same carbon belt and the same 37 V / 10 Ah battery. Both have a torque sensor, hydraulic disc brakes and a suspension fork. Both come with a rear rack, fenders and a battery lock in the box.

What the Ultra adds, according to ADO:

NFC power-on is on both bikes, according to ADO’s compare page. ADO also says the 2026 Ultra got upgraded tyres, but its own pages list different widths. Check the product page before you count that in.

Hills and stop-start: does auto-shifting matter?

Both bikes shift by themselves. You don’t touch a gear lever at a red light or at the bottom of a climb. That’s the main reason to pick either one over a single-speed folder like the Air 20S.

ADO lists the same 50 N·m for both, so the difference lies in the gearing. It pitches the Ultra’s H730 for “confident climbing, even on steep city slopes”.

A simple rule:

We haven’t tested either bike, so we don’t put numbers on climbing. If hills are the whole question, try one at an ADO store or test-ride partner first.

Weight and folding

Both are 20-inch folders. ADO lists the Ultra at 22 kg including standard accessories. The Pro’s weight is not stated here, because ADO’s pages give different figures. Don’t count on the Pro being much lighter.

Before you buy for stairs, do the lift test: one flight, in your commute clothes, without setting it down. Our foldable guide has the checklist: Write down the stairs →

If the lift is the problem, the Air Carbon is ADO’s lightest folder.

Who should pick which

Pick the Air 20 Pro if your route is mostly flat or gently rolling and the price gap matters. ADO lists the same 250 W / 50 N·m rating, belt drive and battery as the Ultra.

Pick the Air 20 Ultra if you climb every day or stop at lots of lights. It gets ADO’s 2nd-gen Bafang H730 auto-shifting motor and a headlight built into the frame.

Pick neither if you carry it up stairs every day. ADO lists the Ultra at 22 kg. Look at the Air Carbon instead.

The Air 20 Pro is for you if…

  • your route is mostly flat or gently rolling
  • you want auto-shifting but the price gap matters
  • a standard, non-integrated headlight is fine

€1,499 Price checked 2 November 2026

Check price at ADO Ad · affiliate link

The Air 20 Ultra is for you if…

  • you climb every day or stop at lots of lights
  • you want ADO’s H730 motor and a headlight built into the frame
  • 22 kg is OK to lift (no daily stairs)

€1,799 Price checked 2 November 2026

Check price at ADO Ad · affiliate link

Neither?

Both bikes are rated 250 W with assistance up to 25 km/h, according to ADO’s spec tables. That is the EU limit for an e-bike that counts as a bicycle (Regulation 168/2013, EN 15194), and in Sweden a cykel klass I, according to Transportstyrelsen. ADO’s Ultra page adds that the motor stops assisting at that speed.

ADO says neither the Air 20 Pro nor the Air 20 Ultra supports throttle installation. The Pro’s spec also lists “Throttle: Without”.

Buy the version sold on ADO’s EU store, which is what our links point to. Skip any “International” or 30 km/h listing. We don’t cover unlocking or raising the speed.

More: EU baseline in our foldable guide → · Swedish rules in short (Swedish) →

FAQ

What’s the difference between the ADO Air 20 Pro and Air 20 Ultra?

The Ultra uses ADO’s 2nd-gen Bafang H730 auto-shifting motor, has a headlight built into the frame and an integrated aluminium frame, and costs more at ADO. Otherwise ADO lists the same basics for both: 250 W, 50 N·m, carbon belt, 37 V / 10 Ah battery and assistance up to 25 km/h.

Is the Air 20 Ultra worth it over the Air 20 Pro?

For hilly or stop-start commutes, yes: it’s the one ADO pitches for harder routes. For flat routes, the Pro’s auto-shifting does the job for less. The motor rating, battery and belt are the same on paper, so pay extra only if the climbs or the built-in headlight matter to you.

Which is better for hills?

The Ultra, going by ADO’s own positioning. ADO pitches its H730 auto-shifting motor for steep city slopes, and its FAQ recommends the Ultra for “very complex sections”. ADO lists the same 50 N·m for both, so the difference lies in the gearing.

How heavy are they?

ADO lists the Air 20 Ultra at 22 kg including standard accessories. The Air 20 Pro’s weight is not stated here, because ADO’s pages give different figures. Don’t count on the Pro being much lighter. If you carry the bike upstairs every day, look at the Air Carbon.

ADO says neither supports throttle installation. Both are rated 250 W with assistance up to 25 km/h, the EU pedelec baseline. Buy the version sold on ADO’s EU store, and see our Swedish rules summary for the local details.

Do they ship to Sweden?

Yes. ADO’s shipping policy lists free shipping to Sweden, sent from Sweden, in 3–7 days (checked 12 October 2026). ADO says its prices include shipping and VAT and can vary by country.

What range do they get?

Not stated. ADO prints the same maximum-range claim for both, and we don’t repeat range claims. Both use the same 37 V / 10 Ah battery according to ADO, so real range depends on your weight, hills, cold and assist level. See our real-world range guide.

Is this the 2025 or 2026 version?

The 2026 versions sold on ADO’s EU store: “Air 20 Pro V2026” and “Air 20 Ultra 2026”. ADO says the 2026 Ultra moved to the 2nd-gen H730 motor, with 50 N·m instead of the 2025 version’s 40 N·m.

Next step

Compare all folding e-bikes → · All ADO folders in one chooser → · Real-world range →

Free shipping to Sweden, 3–7 days, according to ADO’s shipping policy. Buy buttons are affiliate links (ADO). You pay the same price. Disclosure.

Open Compare All guides